更快发现更优设计

海洋船舶行业多学科模拟仿真

日益严苛的排放标准和规范正迫使船企造船商对船舶性能各方面进行改善。STAR-CCM+ 可对实际运行工况下的船舶进行实尺度足尺 CFD 模拟,在赋予设计师创新能力的同时也打开了获得更高效和更优设计的大门。

了解更多

促进性能提升

了解多学科模拟仿真和设计开发如何帮助解决海洋船舶行业业必将面临的最严峻挑战。

100%

STAR-CCM+ 可对实际运行工况下的船舶进行实尺度足尺 CFD 模拟,在赋予设计师创新能力的同时也打开了获得更高效和更优设计的大门。

点击图标了解更多。

STAR-CCM+ 和 EHP 可帮您预测船舶在实尺度足尺试验和模型试验中遇到的阻力,包括航态中的动态下沉与倾斜深沉和纵倾。模拟启动后,工作流可以自动在多种实际海况中对模型进行测试,或通过自推进执行测试。

STAR-CCM+ 能够轻松处理船舶上层建筑上部结构复杂的几何图形,帮助您进行空气动力学模拟。这有助于提高上层建筑的性能,确保对发动机排放和污染物扩散进行控制。

STAR-CCM+ 可精确模拟船舶您的推进系统,而非通过使用规定的操作动作进行拖曳试验,模拟的内容包括旋转桨叶与船体周围水流之间的相互作用,必要时还可预测空化的发生和影响。

通过重叠网格技术,STAR-CCM+ 可帮您预测船舶在实际海况和极端海况下的性能表现。这包括实尺度足尺的波浪砰击和晃荡模拟,无需应用相似准则缩放比例与近似法缩放比例,可生成更精确的荷载,以便进行结构分析。

深入探究

海洋船舶行业面临的危机危及: 传统设计方法无法改善性能

海洋船舶行业转向模拟仿真技术以应对 21 世纪的挑战

海运是全球货物运输的最主要途径,但该行业从未遇到过今天所面临的两个主要挑战:前所未有的人口增长速度以及旨在应对气候变化的严苛法规。 Ba根据预计的人口规模,到 2020 年之前贸易需求预计将从目前的 90 亿吨增至 125 亿吨,而到 2030 年之前将增至 190 亿。与此同时,将有一系列新的法规在未来五年内生效,特别是针对船舶影响环境足迹的新法规。

因此,海洋船舶行业被赋予了一项艰巨的任务,那就是提高生产力(更多的船只,更大的装载量)的同时大幅降低对环境的影响(减少排放,提高效率)。 传统的“设计-测试-建造”方法中,船体使用简化的势流潜流模拟工具进行设计,并通过缩小放大的物理模型在拖曳水池中进行试验,因此无法准确地提供实现长期环境目标所需的性能改进。此外,这些方法还无法精确预测船舶在真实操作条件下的性能表现,比如在实际海况大浪中的自推进力自航操纵。

“自由创新”
对此的解决办法是快速而广泛的采用模拟仿真技术,如计算流体动力学(CFD),有限元分析(FEA)以及多学科设计开发(MDX)以促进性能改进。

结合专为传统造船工程师设计的船体性能预测(EHP)界面,STAR-CCM+ 可以提供像其他运输行业一样的创新自由度,即:

  • 设计师不受限于模型放大的需求
  • 可自由验证新的理念以实现或超越监管目标(MDX)
  • 理念和解决方案可在实际的操作条件下进行验证
  • 同样的方法可应用于初步设计和详细设计优化
  • 同样的方法可应用于系统和部件级别
  • 通过集成仿真环境和 JAVA 脚本,轻松设置过程自动化

 

随着迫使行业过渡转型的严苛法规的出台,复杂模拟和优化技术(如 HEEDS)的出现,以及不断提高的计算能力,剩下唯一的阻碍便是仍深深根植于海洋船舶业思维模式中的传统设计方法。

更快更优设计
来自美国船级社的 Dr. Richard Korpus 接受访问时表示: “100 多年来,设计师始终使用演进方法(每次设计做出微小改进)建造船舶。在最近几年,CFD 提供了一项开创性技术来实现革命性方法——每代设计实现真正优化。”. STAR-CCM+ 拥有强大的功能,可以自动化模拟过程并使其与现代技术一样有效,船舶设计师终于能够推出新颖有效的设计解决方案,从而跟上市场快速发展的脚步。

案例研究

不只是模拟,我们还在创新!

了解我公司客户如何使用我们的产品改善设计并在创新竞争中保持领先。

Discover Better Designs, Faster.

Multidisciplinary Simulation for Marine

Increasingly stringent emission standards and regulations are forcing improvement in all aspects of ship performance. STAR-CCM+ allows full-scale CFD simulations of vessels under real operating conditions, empowering designers to innovate and opening the door to better, more efficient vessel designs.

Learn More

Generating Performance Improvements

Find out how multidisciplinary simulation and design exploration can help to solve the toughest challenges that the marine industry has to offer.

100%

STAR-CCM+ allows full-scale CFD simulations of vessels under real operating conditions and empowers designers to innovate, opening the door to better, more efficient vessel designs.

Click on an icon to learn more.

STAR-CCM+ and EHP allow you to predict the resistance of a ship, at full scale or model scale, including dynamically changing sink and trim. Once the simulation is built, the workflow can be automated to test the model in a variety of realistic sea-states, or through self-propelled maneuvers.

STAR-CCM+ easily copes with the complex geometry of the topside structure of a vessel, allowing you to perform aerodynamic simulations. These can help improve the performance of the superstructure and ensure engine emissions and other pollutants disperse as desired.

Rather than “towing” your digital twin using prescribed motion, STAR-CCM+ allows you to explicitly model your propulsion system, including the interaction between rotating propellers and the flow around the hull, and where necessary predicts the onset and influence of cavitation.

Using overset mesh technology, STAR-CCM+ allows you to predict how your vessel will perform under realistic and extreme sea conditions. This includes slamming and sloshing simulations at full scale, removing the need to apply scaling approximations and thus producing more accurate loads for structural analyses.

In Depth

Marine Industry in Crisis: Traditional Designs Methods Fail to Deliver Performance Improvements

Marine Industry Turns to Simulation to Meet 21st Century Challenges

Marine transport is the main method for carrying goods around the world, yet that industry has never before encountered the combined effect of the two major challenges it faces today: unprecedented population growth and stringent regulations designed to tackle climate change. Based on projected population size, the demand for trade capacity, which is currently just over nine billion tons, is expected to increase to 12.5 billion tons by 2020 and 19 billion by 2030. At the same time, a seemingly never-ending stream of new regulations will be coming into force over the next five years, particularly targeting the environmental footprint of ships.

The marine industry is thus left with the mighty task of producing more than ever (more ships, bigger capacity) while at the same time significantly reducing the environmental impact (reduce emissions, increase efficiency). Traditional “design-test-build” methodologies, in which vessel hulls are designed using simplified potential flow simulation tools and tested using scaled physical models in a towing tank, are not responsive or accurate enough to deliver the performance improvements required to meet long-term environmental objectives. These methods also fail to predict accurately how a vessel will behave under real-world operating conditions, such as self-propelled maneuvers in rough seas.

The “freedom to innovate”
The solution is the fast and widespread adoption of simulation technologies, such as computational fluid dynamics (CFD), finite element analysis (FEA) and multidisciplinary design exploration (MDX), to drive performance improvement.

Combined with the estimating hull performance (EHP) interface designed for traditional naval architects, STAR-CCM+ offers the same freedom to innovate that has been exploited for years by those working in other transport sectors, namely:

  • Designers are not constrained by the need to scale up model solutions
  • There is the freedom to test novel concepts to meet or exceed regulation targets (MDX)
  • Ideas and solutions can be tested in actual operating conditions
  • The same approach can be applied to preliminary design and detailed design optimization
  • The same approach can be used at the system and component level
  • Easy setup of process automation through integrated simulation environment and JAVA scripting

 

With tight regulations forcing the transition, the advent of sophisticated simulation and optimization technologies (such as HEEDS), and the availability of ever-increasing computing power, the only remaining obstacle is the traditional design approach still deeply rooted in the marine industry thinking process.

Better designs, faster
In the words of Dr Richard Korpus from the American Bureau of Shipping: “For more than 100 years designers have built ships using the evolutionary approach – one small improvement per design generation. Within the last few years CFD has provided a groundbreaking technology to enable the revolutionary approach – true optimization for every design generation”. With the incredible capacity of STAR-CCM+ to automate simulation processes and make them as effective as modern technology will allow, marine designers are finally empowered to create novel and efficient design solutions that keep pace with fast-evolving markets.

Case Studies

Don't Just Simulate, Innovate!

See how our customers have been using our products to generate design improvements and stay ahead of the innovation race.